Income Tax Prep Assistance

Through Goodwill SCWI’s volunteer income tax assistance program known as VITA, trained volunteers provide FREE valuable tax assistance to low-income workers and individuals They help prepare income tax returns, answer questions and refer taxpayers to other resources as needed. Your local Goodwill provides this free tax preparation assistance in partnership with the IRS and the Wisconsin Department of Revenue.

Goodwill will host tax preparation clinics at two Madison locations, plus – new this year – at four locations outside of Dane County.

In Madison you can choose from either a single, 1-hour appointment where our volunteers complete the process with you, or two 30-minute sessions. With the two-session option, you drop off your paperwork at the first appointment, your return is prepared by volunteers, and you review and complete the filing at the second appointment.  Outside of Madison, we are offering only the 2-session, drop-off option.

To participate in the VITA service this year, please:

    • Schedule your appointment(s).
      1. Call 608-246-3140 x155
      2. If you are married and filing jointly, both spouses must attend.

Taxpayers are urged to bring all necessary information and/or paperwork to their appointment.

GOODWILL’S HOME OFFICE
1302 Mendota St., Madison

Wed. Feb. 7 – 4:30 pm to 8:30 pm
Thurs. Feb. 8 – Noon to 3 pm
Wed. Feb. 21 – 4:30 pm to 8:30 pm
Thurs. Feb. 22 – Noon to 3 pm
Wed. March 7 – 4:30 pm to 8:30 pm
Thurs. March 8 – Noon to 3 pm
Wed. March 21 – 4:30 pm to 8:30 pm
Thurs. March 22 – Noon to 3 pm
Wed. April 4 – 4:30 pm to 8:30 pm
Thurs. April 5 – Noon to 3 pm

GOODWILL CAREER CENTER
6291 McKee Road, Fitchburg

Sat. Feb. 10 – 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. 
Sat. Feb. 17 – 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Sat. March 3 – 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. 
Sat. March 17 – 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. 
Sat. March 31 – 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Sat. April 7 – 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. 

JEFFERSON COUNTY
Orchard Hollow Apts: 1015 Collins Road Jefferson, WI

Wed. March 14 – 10 am to 2 pm
Wed. March 28 – 10 am to 2 pm
Wed. April 11 – 10 am to 2 pm

PLATTEVILLE 
Goodwill Platteville Store: 2001 Progressive Pkwy, Platteville, WI

Sat. Feb 3 – 10 am to 2 pm
Sat. Feb 24 – 10 am to 2 pm
Sat. March 10 – 10 am to 2 pm

PORTAGE
Goodwill Portage Store: 2902 American Legion Dr. Portage, WI

Sat. Feb 3 – 10 am to 2 pm
Sat. Feb 24 – 10 am to 2 pm
Sat. March 10 – 10 am to 2 pm

RICHLAND COUNTY
Schmitt Woodland Hills: 1400 W Seminary St. Richland Center, WI

Thurs. Feb 15 – 2 pm to 6 pm
Thurs. March 1 – 2 pm to 6 pm
Thurs. March 15 – 2 pm to 6 pm